Re-reading “The Poisonwood Bible”

It’s been about 10 years since I first read this incredible book.  The other day, when I was, as sometimes happens, feeling fickle about my reading material, I picked The Poisonwood Bible off the shelf and dusted if off for a new look.  It was better than I remembered and gosh, don’t you just love when that happens?!?!  So I’m only about 100 pages in and I can’t wait to read it every single day.  Each character’s voice comes across loud and clear and they are all, every single one, so much fun to follow.  I’d forgotten, too, how beautiful and compact Kingsolver’s language is, with the perfect metaphor or the perfect image right there – just right there!!

I’m already wondering what else I might re-read soon: maybe Sophie’s Choice or Lonesome Dove.  I’ll see what mood strikes.  So if you’re having trouble starting one of the new-fangled books hitting the market, give one of your old standards a try.

