It’s Saturday evening and I’ve put my thesis to bed.  Before I fall into a wine and pizza induced coma, I’ll tell you I am still thinking about Emma Donohue’s book, Room.  A week later.  That says a lot.  You should read this excellent book, even with all the current criticism of first person, present tense, point-of-view books.

I am currently reading Julia Alvarez’s In the Time of the Butterflies which is supposed to be excellent and which I’m supposed to love.  I must finish it.  I must!  It’s for my book club.  But I’m 100+ pages in and not sure I want to finish.  I’m also re-reading Maya Angelou’s I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings, so maybe that’s why the Alvarez book does not seem interesting??

Rex is reading a 1,300 page tome called The Rise and Fall of the Third Reich which sounds much more compelling than anything I’ve been reading.

Last night I scanned the first few pages of A River Runs Through It and was totally captivated.



