Sifting through Borders

Even with all the chatter about the decline of the (paper) publishing industry, I try to keep my focus on my work and my energy on the positive-thinking side of the game.  But, of course, the hits just keep on coming.  Check out the latest on the Dystel & Goderich blog.  Here’s an article about it.

Y’all know I’m more a fan of the Used Book Store, but I also spend my fair share of minutes wandering about the local Borders.  It’s right down the street.  I can ride my bike there, or walk my dog and leave her at the bike rack, while I grab a $3 latte and meander around the shelves of new books.  Ahhhhh, the fresh smell of new paper.  I would miss them if they went away.

4 thoughts on “Sifting through Borders

  1. lisahgolden

    I love book stores and would like to spend more time in them. It’s one of those things you don’t think about until they’re hard to come by. When we decided to move to the middle of nowhere, it didn’t occur to me how much I’d miss being able to pop over to this store or that.

    Here’s good news. I just saw on Twitter that an all poetry book store had opened in Denver, I believe.

  2. amyg

    i may be in denial, but i’m wrapping this one up as simply a business that didn’t know how to take care of business. B&N wins because it is better at catering to everybody including the nonreaders or casual book buyers (as opposed to book buyers like me who are a bit more hardcore with their book buying habits in the way that Scott Weiland is more hardcore with his drug taking habits). in the same vein, i think that many independent bookstores will be able to win that: 1.) cater to the book buyers like me, and 2.) are located in cities that can support such markets.

    again, this is mostly likely me, a-wannabe-bestselling-author-who-makes-millions-writing-and-selling-traditional-books-printed-on-real-paper-bound-between-two-hardcovers-with-my-face-and-a-quick-paragraph-summing-up-my-writing-career-on-the-back-flap, IN COMPLETE DENIAL.

  3. Teri Post author

    Definitely a business-model and management problem for Borders, but geez … like there aren’t already enough problems in Book Land.

  4. glasseye

    This is depressing as hell, given how much time I spend at my local Borders. While I’m fine – more than fine – with ebooks, I love having a place to go and hang out and kill a few hours surrounded by the real thing. I hope Borders pulls itself together.

Comments are closed.