Elizabeth

This has nothing to do with books, but I can’t let Elizabeth Taylor’s passing go without comment.  When I was a little girl, I swore my Aunt Sandy was Lana Turner and Aunt Mary was Elizabeth Taylor.  They were that mesmerizing, that beautiful.

Still are.

Broken beauties.

I may have to watch A PLACE IN THE SUN this weekend (the scene below is a favorite).  And maybe WHO’S AFRAID OF VIRGINIA WOOLF, too, where the passion and disease and dialogue between Elizabeth and Richard Burton is enough to knock you down.

Have a good weekend, everyone.

8 thoughts on “Elizabeth

  1. lisahgolden

    I just watched Cat on a Hot Tin Roof the other day while ironing. I know. I KNOW.

    She was so beautiful, it was hard to take one’s eyes off her.

    And a Place in the Sun? What a magnificent movie.

    1. Teri Post author

      I saw this week that her husband Mike Todd died during filming of Cat On A Hot Tin Roof — I need to watch it again with that in mind. Not to mention that I could look at her and Paul Newman all day.

  2. Downith

    Burton and Taylor had such chemistry! I’ve never seen Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf, but there’s a clip they kept showing on the news and I thought “I HAVE to watch that movie.”

      1. erikamarks

        She really did deserve all the accolades (sp?) for VIRGINIA WOOLF. It is a brutal portrayal, maybe made all the more so because we were all (somewhat) privy to the dynamics of her marriage(s) to Burton.

  3. MacDougal Street Baby

    I loved her and Burton in Cleopatra. You could feel the heat between them.

    I’ve never seen A Place in the Sun. Is that Montgomery Clift? I remember my mom loved him. Funny, I can’t get over how perfectly their noses fit together.

Comments are closed.