Emily’s First (and last)

Do you have an extra $12,000 laying around?  If so, you’re in luck.  Bauman Rare Books is selling a First American Edition of WUTHERING HEIGHTS for exactly that price.  This U.S. edition was published about five months after the London first edition (the London one being virtually unobtainable), so if you’re in the market …

Emily Bronte died in 1848 at age 30, the year after this novel — her first and last — was published.  Even though I know this, it’s always just crazy to think about.  One book, an epic, before age 30.  Imagine what she could have done with more years.  Or maybe she would have been like a Harper Lee and been happy with just the one great book.  We’ll never know.

WUTHERING HEIGHTS is my most beloved classic, the one I go back to when all the modern books I’m reading start to seem too flat and too predictable and too ‘just like all the other books I’m reading’.  This classic has everything I crave in an epic story:  ominous settings, complex characters, obsession, love, revenge.

What more could a (40-something) girl want?  Well, her very own First Edition, of course.  Now where did I put that extra $12 grand …

What’s your go-to classic?

15 thoughts on “Emily’s First (and last)

  1. lisahgolden

    $12,000. If only. I apparently know two people for whom this would make a great gift – you and my daughter Chloe.

    This is where I out myself. I don’t have a go to book. I have go to movies and television shows. A Room with a View. Just about any dramatized work of Agatha Christie. Gosford Park. Britcoms like Are You Being Served and The Young Ones. Out of Africa. British Murder Mysteries based on books first. Hope and Glory (the movie set in England during the Blitz). Bright Young Things. The Breakfast Club. Ferris Bueller. The Larkrise to Candleford, Downton Abbey, Upstairs Downstairs and Cranford series.

    Like Chance in Being There, I like to watch.

  2. Sandra Bell Kirchman

    Only $12,000, eh? Until I find my spare $12K I will have to pass.

    The classics that turn my crank are any Charles Dickens, with a particular fondness for A Christmas Carol and Oliver Twist.

    I am also a big fan of Jules Verne, and love 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea, Around the World in 80 Days, and Journey to the Center of the Earth.

    Also Jonathan Swift’s Gulliver’s Travels. I could keep on going but I guess those are my favorite, unless you count the 1900s and ’20s – in which case I would have to put The Wizard of Oz and subsequent L. Frank Baum’s series.

    Nice post, Teri. It got me thinking.

    1. Teri Post author

      “classics that turn my crank” — that’s awesome. Great list, by the way. I still need to read a couple of those for a first time!

  3. Les

    For me it depends on what we’re calling a classic. I read Gatsby at least once a year, but more because I just love the story. I’ve thought of re-reading Moby Dick (!), even bought a super-spiffy edition of it, and I’ve read the first ten pages about three times so far! 🙂

    1. Teri Post author

      You are not dreaming of Moby-Dick alone. I keep thinking I’ll read it again. I admit … I loved and hated that book for so many reasons in the Shillinglaw class. I need a do-over.

      And Gatsby… *sigh*

  4. amyg

    Fear of Flying

    sometime if i need to go even deeper, i’ll do Fear of Flying and How to Save Your Life back-to-back.

    Erica Jong helped shaped my voice and continues to do so with every book of hers I read. She’s my hero.

  5. Lyra

    Wuthering Heights. Love.
    Depending on why I’m going to my go to,
    Confederacy of Dunces-John Kennedy O’Toole
    Straight Man-Richard Russo
    Middlemarch-George Eliot
    Any David Foster Wallace essays.

    1. Teri Post author

      Lyra, some of those David Foster Wallace essays are so original and so brilliant — I never cared much for his longer novels, but his essays are some of the best I’ve ever read.

      And I SWEAR I’m reading MIDDLEMARCH this summer! (pinkie swear)

    1. Teri Post author

      MSB, if I were championing your children through the world, and if I could work a camera like you, I would only read books once, if I could find the time to read at all.

      Besides, sometimes I think I read them so many times because it satisfies some crazy obsessive gene. Like if I keep all the words in the right order ….

  6. Averil Dean

    I don’t know whether it would be considered a classic, but I love Absent in the Spring, by Agatha Christie writing under the pen name Mary Westmacott. It’s such a quiet book, it’s hard to say why I love it so.

Comments are closed.