This Mama’s Day

Cheers to all my mothers...

1. Thanks to my children who understand how hard Mothers Day is for this mama. Austin, who mailed the card a week early, and Chloe Alexis who’s flowers arrived last Wednesday. You’re the best kids…

2. Thanks to my stepmother, Shirley, my Aunts Mary, Angie, Jan, Cookie, and Jody, and mother in law Kay, for filling in the gaps as best you can.

3. For my girlfriends who sent their good wishes, hugs and kisses today, especially you Lisa. And to their moms — Mom B, Jeanine, and Myrime — for keeping an eye on me for the last 30 years.

4. And of course, my fellow bloggers. Like sanity on-call, with my morning coffee. Looking forward to seeing AmyG next week.

5. Honestly, this list could go on and on.

It really does take a village.

24 thoughts on “This Mama’s Day

  1. Downith

    Happy Mother’s Day.

    Sanity on call? Are we reading the same blogs?

    It’s so cool that you are getting together with Amy G. Updates as they happen please.

    1. Teri Post author

      Happy mothers day, MSB! I just started Margaret Atwood’s Life Before Man. Did you finish Stop Time yet?

      1. MacDougal Street Baby

        Nope. I love it but it’s a slow read for me. I’m all set to start The Room by Emma Donoghue. Averil recommended it a while back. Lo and behold, it’s the pick for book club this month. Love it when my worlds collide.

      2. Teri Post author

        ROOM was a great read. Less than 2 days it took! Had to find out “what’s going to happen next?!” And it will offer up some good conversation for your book club.

      3. Averil Dean

        Happy Mother’s Day, everyone!

        I’ll be interested to see what you think of Room, MSB. It’s pretty amazing to think that the voice of a small child could be so riveting.

        Tonight I’m going to start The Road, another of my sister’s recommendations. I should have read it by now, anyway.

  2. Deb

    Happy Mama’s Day! I’m reading Ursula Hegi on recommendation. Has anyone else read her? I’d love to hear another take. Barbara Kingsolver is on deck.

    1. Teri Post author

      I can’t help with Ursula Hegi. Which Kingsolver? I loved POISONWOOD BIBLE and THE BEAN TREES. I’ve been a little afraid to try THE LACUNA … (afraid, with no real reason)

      1. Oma

        I loved The Lacuna. Happy Mother’s Day Everyone, or as one of my oldest dearest friends and I call it Mutha’s Day. Just started reading The Memory Palace, it hurts your heart.

      2. Teri Post author

        Oma, The Memory Palace is on my shelf — and I’m afraid to start it. I feel like I need to brace for the impact first.

      3. Deb

        I wanted to read Poisonwood Bible first, but found a copy of Lacuna on clearance for $6 at B&N. Everyone tells me she’s amazing and I’ve never read her. Do you think the order I read them matters?

      4. Teri Post author

        No order required. But I would start with Poisonwood Bible — one of my favorite books of all time. Kingsolver said it took her 20 years to write it, as she wrote every chapter from every character’s perspective, and then stitched it together later. I can’t even imagine how much she threw away.

      1. Deb

        That’s what I’m reading, MSB! I’m so amazed because it seems Hegi breaks every writing rule I’ve ever been taught by producing a book that is almost entirely narrative, but it works.

  3. Lyra

    The women who gather around you…beautiful. I loved Poisonwood and the Bean Trees, too. It’s been so long since I thought of them.

    May the happy have outweighed the sad for you today.
    Happy Mother’s day. Your kids are blessed.

  4. erikamarks

    Happy Mother’s Day to you, Teri. And to all of the wonderful mothers and daughters here.

    And so glad your visit with AmyG is nearing. You both must be counting the days!

  5. amyg

    i saw barbara kingsolver right after lacuna came out and she read a large portion of it to all 200+ of us who had shown up at belarmine university to hear her talk. i think animal, vegetable, miracle should be required high school reading.

    and yes…i am counting the days!

Comments are closed.