Tank House, 1891

1891:  On today’s dog walk (sprained knee and all … don’t ask) I passed the neighborhood Boo Radley house and found it up for sale.  Built in 1891, historical house and neighborhood, 4 bedrooms and 1 bath, ideal for the buyer who enjoys working with older properties and wants to preserve the integrity of the house.  Large 2-story tank house attached.  Tank house?  What’s a tank house?  I have never noticed said tank house; I might need to investigate.

1891:  Carnegie Hall opens.  Telephone connection occurs between London and Paris.  Jews are tossed out of Moscow.  Paul Gaugin leaves Marseille for Tahiti.  The Empire State express train barrels from New York City to Buffalo in a record 7 hours, 6 minutes.

Blenheim Palace, the bedroom where Winston Churchill is born.

1891:  Winston Churchill is 17 years old.  At the Harrow School, he starts his military training.  He earns high marks in History and English.  Churchill will die in 1965, the year I’m born.

1891:  My great-great grandparents, Fredrick and Minnie, have emigrated from Germany and settled on a farm in the Missouri River Bottom.  In their farmhouse — and without the aid of a doctor or midwife — Minnie will give birth to ten healthy children.  Their farm (and their neighbors’ farms) take on too much water each time the Mississippi River floods, so much water that they have to move out of their homes each time.  How do you move out of your home, temporarily, in 1891, with 10 children?  After too many years and the loss of too many crops, Fredrick builds the family a house in town.  He supports them by doing carpentry work.  In his later years, after his children are grown and gone with families of their own, Fredrick becomes a master broom maker.  He goes door to door, selling his brooms.

1891.  Historic house for sale.  In California.  2-story tank house attached.

13 thoughts on “Tank House, 1891

  1. Lyra

    Isn’t that the house that looked just like the house you and your mom lived in? You had each pictured, if I remember correctly in separate posts?
    For Sale…hmmmm…

    1. Teri Post author

      It IS the house, Lyra. I’m fascinated by things coming together in such weird ways. Add that I don’t believe in accidents, and it’s off to the races.

      1. Lyra

        You may want to take a look at your memoir, the time frames (if there are any) involving that house. Things like this, I think, are your mind’s way of taking a yellow highlighter to your thoughts.
        Millions of things pass our ears and eyes on any given day, that we register but for a moment if at all. This house keeps coming up for you. Your mind is telling you to pay attention…

  2. Downith

    I was thinking of Winston Churchill last week as The Boy sat exams at school:

    “I should have liked to be asked to say what I knew. They always tried to ask what I did not know. When I would have willingly displayed my knowledge, they sought to expose my ignorance. This sort of treatment had only one result: I did not do well in examinations.”

  3. Les

    That’s an intriguing post. I think a tank house is like an old converted water tower. There are a couple in S. Cruz.

    1. Lisa Golden

      Oh, Les, based on your recommendation a while ago, I went back to the library and got out Paul Auster’s Sunset Park again. I’m halfway through and really loving it. Thank you for the recommendation.

  4. Lisa Golden

    I love that you call it the Boo Radley house. We just watched To Kill a Mockingbird. I can’t believe I’ve never read the book, I love the story so much.

    I really enjoyed the way you made this circle. The way I sigh and fuss about little inconveniences makes me wonder if I could have survived life in the 1890s. Talk about inconvenient!

Comments are closed.