Lucy

When I said I would be here only once a week during the summer, I never imagined this would my first post out of the gate.  It’s been a sad and painful week here, as we had to lay our beloved Lucy Lou to rest.

Our little albino beauty was giant-T Trouble from the minute we rescued her.  But she was also, hands down, the smartest, most fun, most entertaining companion we’ve ever had.  Many dogs are food motivated; Lucy Lou was love motivated.  She would do anything for a long rub on her pale pink belly.  Our house is already too quiet …  To say we’ll miss her doesn’t quite do her justice.

Surely no 3-legged dog ever loved the beach this much.

17 thoughts on “Lucy

  1. Les

    I’m so sorry for your loss, Teri. I’ve only had to hear of the loss of a pet from long distance, durng college, and then it was only that “he ran away,” something I’ve always suspected my dad made up because he doesn’t do well with death. What a lucky girl to have spent her years with wonderful, loving people like you and Rex.

  2. macdougalstreetbaby

    I’m so so sorry, Teri. I can imagine how brokenhearted you are right now. Lea must be torn up, too, not understanding where her pal of so long has gone. I’m sending you all my hugs tonight. Thinking of you…

  3. Jennifer Sanford

    I am sad for you again. This brought me back to the day you said good-bye to Scout and the loss of another good dog. They were both SOOOO lucky to have had you as their “mistress.” I am so sorry and send love and hugs your way. (I’m glad I got to meet her!)

  4. lizisilver

    I am so so sorry, Teri. Feeling your pain. When the BFD stays at my parent’s house for a “sleepover” the house feels so quiet without her; it’s amazing that they don’t speak and yet their simple presence fills our homes with their music. I wish there was something I could say to ease the hurt, but I know there just isn’t.

  5. Lyra

    Oh Teri. I am so, so sorry for your loss. There are just no words for the loss of a pet. People either get it or they don’t.
    I grew up with a German Shepherd. He was eleven, and I was 13 when my parents took him to the vet and came back without him. My father couldn’t deal so just didn’t. He was devastated, but it killed me that I never got to say good bye. I remember looking out the second story window and seeing the station wagon pull into the driveway. I waited for them to open the back hatch, and put the wooden ramp that my father had built down for my dog to get out. I saw my dad’s posture, and the tops of their heads as they walked up to the house. I went in to my room and shut the door.

    My dad never mentioned it. My sister came in crying to tell me what happened, but I already knew. It was my dog.

    I am so, so sorry. Love.

    1. Teri Post author

      Thanks, Lyra. God I so remember when our parents did this kind of thing because they thought it was best. And now, no matter how old we were back then, remember every single detail, like yours about the ramp and their postures and tops of their heads walking back to the house.

  6. Candice Wynne

    Teri
    Lucy was the kind of dog that no one would adopt until you came along….not a cuddly quiet submissive pet to be ignored most of the time. You immediately knew who she was and you became obsessed (I remember) over this dog. I don’t think there will ever be another Lucy. My heart is with you.

  7. erikamarks

    Oh, Teri…I obviously have been catching up from recent posts so I just saw this post and my heart breaks for you and your family. I had forgotten that Lucy was a tripod/tripaw like Olive!–and I can see that same joy and glee in her face running through those waves as I see in Olive (though Olive can’t quite get down to the waves anymore). I always look cock-eyed at people who look at dogs like Lucy and Olive and look so apologetic and mournful (as in “Oh, poor dog”) and I would always think, are you seeing the same dog I see? Poor dog, nothing! That’s a dog on top of the world, loved and full of love.
    Hugs to all of you. And a special one from Olive.

  8. Sherry Stanfa-Stanley

    Tears. Damn.

    Every time I adopt a new pet, I warn myself about this. Then I justify it by saying the years of joy they bring is worth the later and inevitable pain. But that generally doesn’t help the pain when it comes.

    So sorry.

  9. Pingback: Bandit | Carter Library

Comments are closed.