The Spoken Word

My daughter sent me this video, which opens with Sarah Kay’s If I had a Daughter ….  

Sarah is a Spoken Word poet.  If you can’t open this video link, you can find it here: Project V.O.I.C.E.

I was in the library, in The Quiet Room, working on my manuscript when this video showed up, and it just so happens I was reading through a section where my mother shares a favorite memory of her mother:  “She told the best ghost stories in the dark on the front porch.”

Did she ever.  Here’s to the spoken word.

4 thoughts on “The Spoken Word

  1. macdougalstreetbaby

    I have to agree with Averil. She’s totally captivating. Whenever I think of spoken word, an image of Mike Myers in “So I Married An Axe Murderer” comes to mind. Sarah Kay is such a better alternative.

  2. Lyra

    Love. Especially the last part, “…well then you need to meet my mother.”
    My middle son told me tonight that an older boy on his bus tells him that he’d like to “kill him right now” or his other bit, “you are so, so stupid”.
    It took him over a week to tell me.
    Yes, he shall be meeting my sons mother. He also taught my son to say, “I have a big one” while pointing down.
    I bet the boy is going to be surprised by just who has the big one.

Comments are closed.