The Championships

Anybody who knows me, knows I watch way too much tennis.

Um, not too much for ME.  Oh no.  Never, never too much for me.  But I might be a smidge on the fanatical side for your normal human.  I make no apologies, mind you, but you know you’re on the edge of fan-effing-crazy when you watch entire matches live and then, later, in replay, and when you know the names of the chair umpires: Hey look, it’s Eva Asderaki in the chair!

I’ve been up at four or five a.m. every single day for the last two weeks, because that’s when the London action starts for the American, west coast tennis-obsessed, and I’ve watched endless hours of matches.  But guess what?  All is not lost.  I’ve used much of this time to edit my manuscript.  It’s crazy how much can get done with a laptop, literally, on your lap.  My back is killing me.  (Not an exaggeration.)   I woke up yesterday morning with my back so out of whack I downed no less than 8 Advil.  (Okay, maybe 12. No joke.)  I think I’ve pinched a nerve.  That’s how bad it is.  The pain radiates and throbs.  Radiates and throbs all night long.  No wonder I’m up at 4 a.m.

But hey, it’s been worth it.  Aside from seeing some truly great tennis, I moved my 300 pages forward, and I managed to eliminate most errant uses of the words “it” and “just” and “then” during these Championships.  For that, I have only tennis to thank.  The Championships, Wimbledon — thank you very much — kept my literal butt in the proverbial chair.  And that’s how this writing business gets done.  (or so I hear….)

My 4 and 5 a.m. tennis ended today.  I cried.  Who could see this and not cry?  Normal human or not.

.

Congratulations Andy Murray.  You done good, kid.  I’m so proud.

Tomorrow Andy will get back to work.  So will I — at my desk!  In my ergonomic chair.  Here’s hoping I remember how to think and work there.

15 thoughts on “The Championships

    1. Teri Post author

      I was watching Andy talk and thinking how much work you can put into something (eschewing all else) and that it still might not be good enough. But he does it anyway. There’s nothing I love more than dedication and an obsessive work ethic.

  1. schietree

    I can’t even watch this speech yet. I and I’m sure about half of Scotland watched him play. Immensely well, as you know, against Federer’s genius. Not to be – this time.

    Glad you could get work done, I was too busy peering through my fingers at the TV.

    1. Teri Post author

      A year and a half ago I was so baffled by Andy for not playing better in major finals. He always seemed so nervous and lost out there. But yesterday, he played his heart out. He’s all grown up.

  2. Downith

    Every time I sat down to watch Wimbledon (which was a lot as we have been in the rainy season here) I thought about you and our previous discussions about Andy Murray. As I watched him give that speech yesterday I had tears in my eyes and I think it endeared him to many. Amazing match but how I wish Murray had won. .

    1. Teri Post author

      The rain there. My gosh, it’s of epic proportions, and that’s saying a lot for England.

      Poor Andy. Like Andy Roddick in 2009, he played so well but ran into the Federer machine.

  3. Sarah W

    My MIL and husband were talking about Murray at breakfast this morning. Part of his speech was in the paper. What a lovely man.

    I write best to live baseball, Teri—my back doesn’t hurt, but I do risk heatstroke.

    1. Teri Post author

      I’d probably do better with the baseball, Sarah. The games are long, there are sooooo many of them, and I could watch less and work more.

  4. LauraMaylene

    I’m not a tennis fan and I didn’t follow any news at all last night, so when I clicked on the video in your bog today and saw Murray crying, I assumed he was emotional because he won. So it was even more heartbreaking (and endearing?) to realize he had lost.

    I have always written in a regular wooden chair. But I think I am finally approaching the age where that just isn’t going to cut it anymore. Might be time to start shopping for ergonomic chairs…

    1. Teri Post author

      I always remember the Arthur Ashe saying, that a true champion is someone who is as kind and humble and gracious in defeat as when they win. How hard it must be to stand there exhausted and heartbroken and be so open.

  5. Les

    Andy Murray is a real class act. I felt for him. I’ve never been a big Roger fan, but watching him play nearly flawless tennis was unreal. 70% first service percentage, and winning 90% of those? “You cannot be serious!” 😉 I think my favorite matches of the few I caught were actually both doubles finals. I had no idea Venus had such a serious net game.

    I’ve just started playing again after being on the DL for two years. Wow, is it ever NOT like riding a bike.

    I hope your back is better!

    1. Teri Post author

      Good for you, Les!!! I, on the other hand, stopped playing back in January. Minor but irritating injuries. And as of today, sciatica! I tell you what, it’s no fun, this aging business.

      I don’t mind Fed, but I could barely sleep the night before that last match, I sooooo wanted Andy to win!!! (see, I told you I wasn’t a normal fan.)

  6. Les

    That’s the way I felt about Roddick a couple years ago. And I still think that that one blown overhead backhand volley sealed his fate; yeah, it’s only the most difficult shot, but hey…:)

    I’ll tell you what, Teri. I blew out my back when I was 30—playing tennis. Actually, playing tennis poorly; not bending my knees but leaning into shots. Anyway, I was on disability for six months, so I know your pain. You CAN rehab. Are you seeing a PT, or have you? I not I can recommend a genius.

    1. Teri Post author

      Oh dear god, poor Roddick and that ONE errant backhand. That was his Wimbledon. Roger stole it from him. I was so heartbroken for him.

      If you have a genius PT, do share!

Comments are closed.