Cover Me

Let me say it right out.  I hate Summer.  I hate Summer, and this is about the time, every single year, when I’ve had enough.  Enough constant sunshine.  Enough go-go-go.  Enough heat and fans and air-conditioning.  Enough cantaloupe.

I never even liked Summer when I was a kid.  Come August I’d be itching for the classroom:  the hope in a new teacher’s first words, my very own desk, Language Arts and Social Studies, clean white lines in a red or green Mead spiral, the sniff of pencil erasers, lunch on a schedule and on a plastic tray.  Cold milk.

.

These days, a comfort book or two get me through to Fall.  I plucked this one off the shelf this morning.  Isn’t the cover gorgeous?  Chapter One begins:  When he was nearly thirteen, my brother Jem got his arm badly broken at the elbow.  

Ah, yes.

Are you tired of Summer yet? 

18 thoughts on “Cover Me

  1. Averil Dean

    I was the same way as a kid; one of my favorite days of the year was the back-to-school shopping trip, with all those unsharpened pencils and smooth pink erasers. But summer in Oregon is so beautiful I never want it to end. For the first time in my life, I am happy in August.

  2. Downith

    You wouldn’t hate summer over here Teri . It only lasts a few days.
    .
    But TKAM is one of my all time top books. And that cover is wonderful.

    1. Teri Post author

      You had a few days of summer?? I feel for you — this has been rain and dark skies of epic proportions, and that’s saying a lot for England.

      Hopefully Andy Murray will make it to the gold medal match and bring more sunshine.

      1. Downith

        Well, I think we had a few but I may have been hallucinating.

        I can see what’s going to happen – Federer v Murray – again…………..

  3. Josephine

    i love summer. i could live year round in 100+ degree weather. (one day i will.) you know what i really love, and i’m not being facetious or ironic here, i love getting into my car after it has been sitting in the sun all day and just sitting in that warm air. sometimes, i forget that i’m not alone in the car and my husband nearly jumps off a ledge when i fail to turn the AC on as soon as the car starts. “what are you doing? how can you breath in here?”

    i always appreciated the first day of school and new school supplies. but i want to live on the sun.

    1. Teri Post author

      I’m breaking into a sweat just reading this. Wow. You need to be living in Phoenix. Or Houston. Or New Orleans! It was 104 the day we toured the Forum in Rome last week, and I’m pretty sure I barely survived.

  4. ThreeKingsBooks

    I’m on the same wavelength as Josephine, above (maybe because my name is JOSEPHINE?), but I have to confess that this summer has been above and beyond. Need a swimming pool.

    1. Teri Post author

      It’s still shocking to me that I lived 4 years in Phoenix. And loved every minute. Must have been the glow of youth that kept me going on those 120 degree days.

      For all of you guys back east, this summer has been painful.

  5. Jennine G.

    To Kill a Mockingbird is probably my favorite book, if I could only pick one. I taught it for six years and learned something new every time.

    I’m in eastern Ohio (I live five minutes from the PA border and I actually teach in the first school right over that border in PA), so it’s been unusually dry and hot here. We usually get more rain than this. But it’s not the weather that bothers me about summer…it’s my listlessness. I am useless in summer. I love June because I am more ready than the students to end a school year and sleep in for a month. But mid July I start to notice how much I’m not getting done. Having a schedule (one forced upon me by work, for example) keeps me on top of everything in life.

    So as August rolls around, I can’t say I am completely mad summer is ending. And I don’t have AP Composition classes this year. No AP classes = Less grading = more personal writing time! I just hate waking up early!!!!

    1. Teri Post author

      Listless in summer. You’ve named it for me, Jennine. I’ve always felt sluggish and tired in summer, even when I was a little kid. A few summers ago, I spent almost every single day, all day, in the library, finishing my thesis. As much as I was sick of the thesis and the rush of getting it done, I was also happy to sit in the cold library in a sweater everyday. 🙂

  6. girl in the hat

    Ugh. Get me off this fucking beach. The longer I stay, the dumber I get. I’m all jell-o and noodle now, overdone and artificial. Give me some fog, please.

    1. Teri Post author

      I can lie on the beach for 4 or 5 days. I love it. Until I don’t.

      It’s cold here this morning in the South Bay. And even though I know it’s supposed to be 90 degrees later today, I’m enjoying the cold air now.

  7. Tin Roof Press

    I love love love summer. long days, deep blue twilights and no layers sitting in the park for lunch instead of huddled in some dark office. I dread the winter. and we have barely had a summer. its been such a wash out. 😦 sad face.

    1. Teri Post author

      And we are so dreaming of a washout. We’ve had so little rain for over a year!! Isn’t that just how it goes…. The longer days aren’t so bad, but I do live a sweater or three. 😉

Comments are closed.