So …. We Were Talking About Books

I’m in the middle of this novel by Amor Towles, which I believe was recommended by Lisa.  I’m fairly certain I’m in love.  The style, the era, the story —- it’s a total swoon-erama over here.  I’m going to be in tears, real live tears, when it ends.

Slightly Foxed books in London recommended these 2 historical novels, and I bought them strictly on the sales lady’s obvious, overwhelming love of them.  And the fact that I’d spent hours in their store over 3 days and had to buy something.  A total guilt-purchase, but my fingers are crossed.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

And last —- but really first —- there’s this memoir/biography by Madeline Albright.  I remember reading about this book back before it came out, and then somehow forgot all about it.  Now Ms. Albright’s book feels like a brand new discovery and I can’t wait for those first few pages.  Having just been in Prague, where I spent a day touring the Terezin ghetto, this book appears at just the right time.

 

15 thoughts on “So …. We Were Talking About Books

  1. Josephine

    i bought cloud atlas today because two guys were talking about it in the bookstore and one said as soon as he was finished he started it again.

    i bought case for solomon after listening to the this american life story which was produced before the book was published (it’s about the bobby dunbar kidnapping…that turned out to be not the bobby dunbar kidnapping but bruce anderson kidnapping)

    i bought sleepwalking with me last week.

    and now, i’m waiting for penny marshall’s and the new anne lamott books.

    (i would have bought beautiful lies based on the cover alone.)

    1. Teri Post author

      It’s so comforting to know I’m not the only one out buying NEW books when I have a houseful of OLD NEW books yet to be read!!! Madness, this is.

  2. Erika Marks

    Teri, too funny! When I was at SIBA last weekend at the Penguin booth, that WEIRD THINGS CUSTOMERS SAY… book was THE RAGE. Everyone came by to take a peek–what a brilliant little book. I came back from that trade show with a heavy bag of books and wished I could have brought more. I’ll share titles soon, I promise.

  3. lisahgolden

    I want to read THE RULES OF CIVILITY again to glean the things I know I missed. I love that novel.

    I’m reading DRIFT by Rachel Maddow. It’s not raising my blood pressure as much as I expected it to, but it has made me shout HOLY SHIT! a time or two or twenty. Madeline Albright is mentioned in it and I was thinking today as I read those passages that I should read her memoir(s?).

    I’m listening to VENETIA KELLY’S TRAVELING SHOW by Frank Delaney. The author reads it. What a delight! I’m in love with his accent.

    Enjoy your reading/writing time.

    1. Teri Post author

      Holy shit is a great recommendation tactic. Thanks for sharing these, Lisa. Wouldn’t it be fun to go out for a cocktail with Katey in the NYC of 1938?

    2. Averil Dean

      I have wanted to get the Maddow book but was worried that it would make my head explode. Good to know it will only make me say HOLY SHIT a time or twenty, since I’d be cursing over something or other anyway.

  4. Jennine G.

    Yea, you can’t help buying books regardless of what you already own and haven’t read. I have books I bought in 1997 and still haven’t read, but that doesn’t stop me from buying more.

    They put me in the yearbook of the high school I work at last year as a “fun fact” for the number of books I own at home. Lol, I think I need a 12 step program.

    1. Teri Post author

      That’s an awesome Fun Fact, Jennine, for your students to see. Love it. And we’ll get around to all of these books, when the time is right. Right? 😉

  5. macdougalstreetbaby

    I’m still midway through RULES OF CIVILITY but I’m right there with you. The writing is wonderful. I think Lisa is right. This is the kind of book that can be read over and over again.

    I remember hearing Madeleine Albright on NPR when her book first came out. Her story sounds fascinating and now that you have a taste of Prague, you’ll probably find it even more so.

    1. Teri Post author

      The Albright book has gotten excellent reviews from both critics and readers. I noticed that some of her family were imprisoned, and then died, in the Terezin ghetto outside Prague. We spent a whole day there, a place where 15,000 children were interred and only 100 survived — the walls of the museums there are lined with art, much of it the paintings and drawings of children describing their life in the camp. Overwhelming.

      1. macdougalstreetbaby

        If I remember correctly, I don’t even think she knew she was Jewish until fairly recently. I’ve only been to Dachau and it left me trembling. I can’t even fathom the horror of it all.

      2. Teri Post author

        You’re right. She had no idea. She found out she was Jewish, and about her family, from a news report when she was 59 years old. I can’t even imagine. Can’t wait to read her story.

Comments are closed.