An Honest Book

Mr. Carter Library has been in Phoenix, but he came home today with a gift for me:  this old set of Little House books.  My favorite series of all time.  They feel fragile.  There’s water damage.  They smell like dust.  They are spectacular.

.

In addition to the collection, he also brought this pamphlet, a 1967 teachers’ guide to using these books in the classroom, in which Mrs. Doris Eddins wrote the following:

A good book is an honest book.  It is written with fun and perception and imagination.  Its language is the language of feeling — laughter and satisfaction, heartache and appreciation.  It is written in such a way that respect is shown for the reader.

Here’s to you, Mrs. Eddins.

It’s hard to choose, but my favorites have to be ON THE BANKS OF PLUM CREEK and THE LONG WINTER.

Do you have a favorite?

16 thoughts on “An Honest Book

    1. Teri Post author

      I reread THE LONG WINTER last winter. I’d forgotten how the family had moved into town for that period. Funny how that happens.

  1. Josephine

    i can feel those laura ingall wilder book jackets in my hand. rough with a cloth-like feel, like an old rag that got wet and dried stiff.

    (i’m going as laura ingalls wilder for halloween)

    1. Teri Post author

      You are exactly right. Rough cloth like an old rag. I’m opening them so carefully, like prized jewels.

      P.S. You’d better post photos of that outfit.

      1. girl in the hat

        I was going to say the same thing! My man couldn’t get me a gift I wanted if I sent him into a store with a picture and a map. (Sh. Don’t’ tell him I said so. He does try so hard.)

  2. Jennine G.

    Wow, those are older than my Little House set. I can’t even count the number of times I’ve read that series growing up. I won’t let my kids touch my set now because the pages are yellowed and I’m afraid they will fall out if opened too widely…I bought my girls their own sets.

    In fourth grade we had a wax museum and I was Laura Ingalls Wilder. We had to memorize a paragraph of information and dress up like the character. So every time someone pushed the “button” on our shoulder, we had to recite our information.

  3. Lyra

    What a great present. I didn’t ever really get into Laura Ingalls Wilder and then you said, “On the Banks of Plum Creek” and all these dings went off in my head, because I know I’ve read that. Can you imagine all of the books that we’re read and forgotten? Oh my. My head spins just thinking of it.

  4. Paul Lamb

    I love that musty, dusty smell of really good used bookstores. I have one book in my collection that was published in 1848, and just holding it to my nose is a treat.

  5. LauraMaylene

    What a beautiful gift! I can practically smell them. This Little House books remind me of my elementary school book fair, which I’m sure you can guess made my nerdy little heart swell with anticipation every year.

    I want to say my favorite is “By the Shores of Silver Lake,” but I’m not sure if that’s really true or if I just always loved the title.

  6. Angie LaForest

    when I’m down for feeling like crap…I grab one of these books and read. I know I’m almost 48! lol The Long Winter is my favorite…

Comments are closed.