Less This, More That

I’m making a prediction:  2013 is going to be one hell of a year.  A different kind of year.  A year of less of this and more of that.

FOR EXAMPLE

Less Facebook and more face time.  Facebook is starting to feel like being a peeping tom, like I’m looking in someone’s windows when they don’t know I’m there.  People’s Facebook posts can be benign, sure, but there’s also the painfully stupid and inflammatory.  And once you’ve seen those things you wish you’d never seen?  It’s too late.  You can’t ever, ever get them out of your head.  When I want to know what you’re up to, I’m going to go all old-fashioned and call you up!  Voice to voice!

images-2

[example redacted for being painfully stupid and inflammatory]

____________________

Less TV and more music.  Aside from the few shows I actually enjoy and look forward to — Homeland, Downton Abbey, sports — TV is pretty much a dead zone.  And no, I will never watch Honey Boo Boo or that show with the Duck family.  I’d rather listen to this?

_____________________

Less watching that spinning gray circle on my phone that says “checking for new mail” and “connecting,” because, really, isn’t it terribly disappointing when you get nothing (what? no one’s thinking about me?!) or, even worse, just more spam?

No new messages.

Join Northern California Vegan Christian Singles Today!

 _____________________

Less breaking news and politics and more sitting in the silence with a great book.  In the new landscape of iReporters and anonymous comment sections, there’s just too much noise and all that noise is getting in the way of my sanity.  I’m craving real news and real stories by real writers.  In fact, here’s what I’m reading now, so I’m off to a good start ….

511U1D8F3qL._SL500_AA300_9780307268433_custom-183349084989814ceddcbfba5b1a65bfccad638b-s2

_________________________________________

What do you want more of or less of in your 2013?

30 thoughts on “Less This, More That

  1. Jennifer

    My sentiments exactly…I could have written this myself. Of course it wouldn’t have been as well-done and there might have been a few f-bombs. I didn’t send holiday cards this year. I posted a photo on FB instead. I’d tell you to look but…no peeping!

    Happy New Year, my friend!

    1. Teri Post author

      Oh sister, there were an abundance of f-bombs in the first draft …. Happy new year. Wish you could drop by for a drink, or 5.

    1. Teri Post author

      Les, I’m taking your “less whining” intention for my own, and raising you a “write everyday even when I don’t want to.”

  2. Les

    PS On your recommendation I bought The Yellow Birds and read it while at my folks’ house over Xmas. Wow, that young man has craft to burn.

    1. Teri Post author

      And now I’ve got that other war book National Book Award finalist BILLY LYNN’S LONG WALK in my stack. A friend is reading it now and says it’s fantastic.

  3. Bonnie Middlebrooks

    I’m trying more face time with friends, one on one. Groups are fun, but don’t feel like real connections to me most of the time. Oh, and if you find real news please let me know, I’d love to tune in or read it, too.

    1. Teri Post author

      My god, LESS GROUPS is a great one. I’m remembering back in the day when my grandmother’s friends stopped by for an hour. Just a cup of coffee or lunch and a long chat. So simple, so (sadly) not what we do anymore ….

    2. bonnie middlebrook

      Are there 2 Bonnie Middlebrooks? I did not write the post with my name on it….Not that I disagree with what she says, but, it just isn’t me!!

      1. Teri Post author

        Bonnie, there ARE in fact TWO. Bonnie Middlebrooks (with an “s”) is a friend of mine right here in town. I can tell your comments apart by the “s” and also by your email addresses, which only I can see.

        Seriously. Two of you. Right here in our little town. Crazy, right?!?!

  4. Jennine G.

    Nice – love the concept here. I wrote a blog that was pretty much my plan for the new year (and why)…the things you wrote above will help me achieve my goals! Less online and more real connection!

  5. Lyra

    Oh, and one more thing. I told a co-worker (one that doesn’t particularly like me) that I was getting my husband a record player and an old fashioned shaving kit for Christmas. He looked at me, not nastily, but not kindly, rather stupified really, and said simply, “Why?” How does one answer the question?
    I said, “We’re doing a retro thing” but what I thought was, if it makes no sense, I cannot explain it to you.

  6. Lyra

    (This came first, but I dont’ know where it went. Sorry if it’s a double post)

    Sometimes it’s as if you live in my mind…
    Got the man a record player for Christmas and we have been listening to that nonstop as we read big fat books and wonder why are the children so quiet, but not quite curious enough to stop and check. Music and books nourish us as much as real life people, provided you choose those people with care.
    I love the idea of your grandmother’s friends stopping by for coffee and to chat, a moment of real mixed with gossip and coffee. If I lived near you, we would so start this trend back again.
    I don’t yet have the freedom for face-to-face because I’d rather spend the little time home with the little people and one big person who I don’t see enough. But that being said, the time playing games, reading books, yes to more of that in the New Year.
    Yes to your entire list.
    Love.

    1. Teri Post author

      My kids were just here and I feel like they’ve been abducted by aliens into the new world order of “on line” everything. I worry. When are they ever really alone with their thoughts, in the quiet, for thinking time, creating time, decision-making time, who-am-I-really time. So much noise.

  7. macdougalstreetbaby

    I need a good book recommendation and I’m taking you up on Mr. Flynn. You’ve mentioned him before so I know he comes with high recommendations. I just finished HEARTBURN by Nora Ephron. It’s a light, funny read and especially good if you’ve never seen the movie.

    Happy New Year, Teri. I love the the play on “this” and “that.”

    1. Teri Post author

      Beware that Nick Flynn’s books aren’t necessarily stories in the traditional sense. There’s a lot of space for the reader to “fill in the blank” and weave your own story/thoughts into his. He asks a lot of questions, the kind where I often close the book and wonder how in the hell I would answer said question. Love it.

      It’s been a strange year of books, MSB. I’ve liked far less books than usual, and have had trouble finishing them.

  8. Averil Dean

    More sex, less food.
    More time on wooded trails, less time on the couch.
    More real writing, less other-shit writing.
    More second-hand goods, less brand-new.
    More open-mindedness with books, less re-reading-for-the-umpteenth-time.

    XO

  9. LauraMaylene

    More reading books, less reading the Internet. More green tea, less coffee. More bananas, less processed sugar. More walking, less sitting. More social time, and a little less hermit time.

    1. Teri Post author

      I was dissatisfied with so many books this past year, Laura, and I think one of the reasons —- no kidding —- is because I’m too distracted while I’m reading them. I’m not really giving them a chance, with the TV on, reading blogs, reading the news online, checking email, playing words-with-friends, etc…. It’s like, read 3 sentences, check email, read a paragraph, look up some random subject that just hit my brain, etc….

      More quiet time. More walking. Yes yes yes.

      1. Jennine G.

        I enjoyed the books I read, but didn’t read nearly as many as I usually do for these very reasons Teri! I used to be able to read for hours on end and now suddenly I find myself putting my book down after a page or not picking it up at all as I intended. It’s herecy.

  10. independentclause

    Why did I not know about a new Nick Flynn until now?? (Please note: it took great self-control not to write that in all caps.) No resolutions here, except there will be less editing and more writing in January. I’m taking it month-by-month.

    PS It kills me that I can’t stop at any one of your houses for coffee.

  11. Catherine

    I do love lists. Averil’s is cool! More sex and more exercise. Less mooning about. Less technical frustrations with machines. More fashion and films and quick trips abroad. More exotic food. Less temper, more strategy. Lots of words and stories. More music, more Scarlatti and do not fall in love with your maestro. Happy 2013 to all of you!

Comments are closed.