Night Moves

curious_george_takes_jobWhat is it about going to bed and turning off the light that shifts the writer’s monkey brain into gear?

I have the flu (yes, I had a flu shot, the bastard) but I can’t blame my stopped up head or the buzzy drugs for waking up in the night with full-on sentences and the proper order of story lines.  This is one of those regular occurrences that I wish I could bottle up and save for daylight.  Last night there were so many I (twice) had to bypass the pen and paper by the bed, get to the laptop, blind myself with the too-bright screen, and send emails to myself.

But will any of it make sense in the morning?  I’m afraid to open my inbox and find out.

In the meantime, here’s what I’m reading when I’m up and awake in the night, neither of which will lull you back to sleep.

inthewoods_us

9781455502783

21 thoughts on “Night Moves

  1. macdougalstreetbaby

    If the light of the laptop doesn’t blind you, the yellow on all those covers certainly will! Hope you feel better soon but yay for you for continuing to forge ahead. That’s some serious commitment.

  2. girl in the hat

    This happens to me all the time but I can’t move or I’ll wake my man up. It’s torture.
    Sorry about the flu. That fully sucks. I have one friend who was down for the count for 9 days. I hope you get better soon. As for me, I’m lying in bed, queasy after a biopsy.
    I liked “Arguably” although I have to say I didn’t read every essay.

    1. Teri Post author

      I’m not reading all of the essays either, but I love his humor and his smarts. He throws things around that I can only dream of knowing more about. I miss him.

  3. Pamela

    Get well soon, Teri. I’m reading “The Auto-Immune Epidemic” in an effort to learn more about things like Lupus, MS, Sjogren’s….easy to read at bedtime because I don’t get caught up in a plot or so absorbed that I can’t put it down. Alongside that one, Dan Chaon’s story collection “Stay Awake” is sitting there waiting for me to come back for one more story.

    Rest up.

  4. Averil Dean

    Noooo!!! Poor thing. I hope you feel better soon.

    I’ve been waking up in the middle of the night, too, though I can’t say I’m getting anything profound out of it. Just a crick in the neck and a headache the next morning.

  5. jpon

    If I wake up and write down my “profound” thought, I usually remember it anyway in the morning. If I don’t write it down, of course I forget.

    Feel better soon.

    1. Teri Post author

      And don’t you love it when those “profound” night thoughts make absolutely no sense in the light of day?

  6. Jennine G.

    Flu sucks. I’m dreading it coming to my house because the first thing I’ll have to do is rewrite all of those lesson plans for a sub to follow…all that work for nothing. Grrrr.

    Hope you get better faster than most! And I twice woke from I dream I felt I shouldn’t forget and pulled my iPhone out and typed the entire thing on the notepad section with my thumbs! Glad I did.

    1. Teri Post author

      Don’t you teach, Jeannine? How teachers stay well, I can never figure out. Must be all those years of exposure to every germ imaginable.

      1. Jennine G.

        Yep I teach. I lost my voice and had one bout of severe illness every year for the first four years at least – my initial exposure to the germ fest I guess. In the six years since I’ve only been really ill once and lost my voice for six months once (vocal chord nodules). So maybe I’ve gained some immunity – although the common cold is plentiful and there’s no immunity to it!

  7. LauraMaylene

    I started emailing myself at work today — it seems I finally figured out some major plot points for the end of my current novel in progress. No more wandering around blindly toward the end for me! Of course, every time I sent one of these rambling idea-filled emails to myself, I worry I will accidentally send it to someone else. Once, I sent such an email to another Laura Walter whose email address is only off by one letter. So embarrassing.

Comments are closed.