Three’s A Charm

books-1I suppose it won’t surprise you that I’m reading this.

But it may surprise you that it’s not really about dogs.

I’ve been wanting to read this memoir for a long time, as it came highly recommended from a trusted source, and I’m not the least bit disappointed.  In fact I can’t stop reading it.  It’s an incredible story of how to rebuild a life when there is no longer a past or a future, only the present, and you have to figure out who you’re going to be.

__________________

In other dog-related news, Annie has become my new shadow, my beautiful chocolate Annie Belle Lee.  Which, of course, reminds me of Edgar Allan Poe.

It was many and many a year ago,
In a kingdom by the sea,
That a maiden there lived whom you may know
By the name of Annabel Lee;
And this maiden she lived with no other thought
Than to love and be loved by me.

IMG_1477When I get up, she gets up.  When I sit down, she sits down.  I’m learning patience, to stay in one place for longer periods of time just so she can relax.

Our Annie Belle Lee remains puzzled about her sleeping arrangements.  Why she can’t lounge on the couch, for crying out loud?  And why on earth does she have to sleep on the floor (what?!), on a dog bed (the horror!), with her two new canine sisters.

She loves canned green beans — a key to her weight loss plan — but that’s not all.  Today she ate an entire box of Kleenex.  Which is nothing compared to her sister, JoJo, who puked up a pair of my underwear (which she’d swallowed whole).

It’s a Three Lab Life.

34 thoughts on “Three’s A Charm

  1. Downith

    this maiden she lived with no other thought
    Than to love and be loved by me.

    That poem is perfect for her.

    (The things dogs eat – unbelievable.)

  2. Pamela

    Love it. Your post came through when I was sitting with “Phineas” on my lap at work. Phineas is the boutique dog (a tiny terrier) in the women’s clothing shop that houses my office. I’m tucked away at the back of the building, doing counseling. When Phineas hops into my lap, it’s clear that he’s a much better therapist than I am.

    I thought I was a cat person until I met him.

    Annie looks so sweet. They all do.

    1. Teri Post author

      I have a friend who’s been a cat person all his life. After much thought, he went to the shelter and adopted a German Shepherd puppy. I was worried. From cats to a giant German Shepherd?? But guess what — that dog is his best friend in the entire world. They even travel together. He lives in Arizona and has driven (driven!!) to New York City so the dog can see Times Square.

      1. Lyra

        So funny. We had a german shepherd from the time I was two until the time I was eleven. I thought that was a normal size dog and the rest were just tiny. I never ever thought I’d have one cat no less the now five that have passed through my life. Funny how it all works out. That’s probably the point. We don’t know ourselves nearly as well as we think and should stop making it up and just be. Let ourselves be whoever we are. Yep. Thoughts on a Tuesday night…

  3. Averil Dean

    I’m cracking up right now, because I’ve been frozen on this chair for an hour in order to let Izzy have a nap. I get up, she gets up. I leave the room, here comes my little shadow and her jingling tags.

    She has learned some key sounds: shutting of the laptop = Mom’s done working and I might be taken for a walk; music turned off = Mom’s done listening and I might be taken for a walk; shower turned on = Mom will be out of sight for several minutes and I should sit right here by the door until she comes out, after which I might be taken for a walk; crinkling bag = a dog-related food item = score!!! Smart as a whip, my sweet Izzy-bella.

    XO

    1. Teri Post author

      There is definitely a cause-and-effect thing going on. I feel so guilty every time I move and she gets up, her arthritis is so bad. I find myself tiptoeing around ….

  4. Sherry Stanfa-Stanley

    Adopting a full-grown dog instead of a pup is a whole different animal (pun intended). All the dogs I’ve raised since puppies were pretty easy–once you get past the early housetraining and chewing issues.

    But the grown stray I had for years was much more challenging, and the one my son adopted last year has been, well, BEYOND challenging. I was more than ready to get both grown boy and dog out of the house. And now, I find myself calling to see if the dog can come visit. 😉

  5. Jennine G.

    I bought that book last fall during my memoir kick. Haven’t gotten to it yet, but it sure sounded promising. Glad to hear I won’t be disappointed.

    Had my class at school do a short poetry unit using The Raven the last two days, in honor of Baltimore’s win. They are all Steelers fans and weren’t happy about it, but I told them my intentions were in no way football related…any team named after a literary figure in any way trumps all others!

  6. Jess

    Hi Teri! I loved this book, too, but a while back, I wrote over at Betsy’s about a writer’s conference I attended where the celebrity author mocked and humiliated me in front of about 100 other writers. That was Abigail Thomas. I donated all of her books to the library. 🙂 xoxo

      1. Jess

        I asked her about arc, about how I weave individual experiences and vignettes together (this is when I was working on my first book). She basically said I was an idiot for trying to find an arc, and that real writers just write. And she wasn’t very nice about it. I left early. I was there because I liked her work and she was judging my work for a writer’s conference award (although I certainly did not reveal that part of my presence there). She was a meanie.

  7. jpon

    I am at the point where I do not take a step or push back a chair without first making sure Henry is not already there. I understand your situation completely.

  8. Catherine

    I also have my German Shepherd who follows me like a shadow and I also have to watch when I move that chair. She sits below when I do piano practice and doesn’t much like my Scarlatti though!

    1. Teri Post author

      Cat, why is it that I can absolutely see you out in the yard, at your desk, at the piano, with a giant German Shepherd by your side. Love that image.

  9. LauraMaylene

    I read this post right after removing Saucy from my face/computer. I’ve been letting her get too pushy and cozy in the mornings when I’m trying to write — what started as a sweet habit of curling up on the desk right next to my laptop has gradually turned into an elaborate “let’s parade back and forth over the keyboard repeatedly and twitch my tail in Laura’s face and then press my mass of fuzz up against the screen.” Ugh. Saucy is also the one who slips directly on my calves at night, rendering me motionless almost all night long until my limbs are the only part that fall asleep.

    Pets. God love them. Please write about Annie and your dogs as much as you’d like — puking up underwear? Gold. And I admire your no-couch rule for her. I have a friend who doesn’t allow her *cat* to get on the couch, which blows me away. I can’t even convince Saucy to not camp out directly on my keyboard as I’m typing on it. I’m such a softie.

    1. Teri Post author

      And that the underwear were not chewed up? Priceless.

      I learned my lesson about dogs-on-furniture the hard way. My first dog as an adult was a cocker spaniel. Of COURSE I allowed her on all the furniture. She was a cuddle bug and I loved it.

      Until she chewed my sofa pillows. Until she peed on my bed. Until I bought a new leather chair and, on the day it arrived, she dug out the seat cushion to make it her own. After all that, no more dogs on the furniture.

      Besides, it’s really hard to keep from spilling your coffee, wine or beer with a 70 lb lab jumping in your lap. I’m nothing if not practical.

Comments are closed.