Okay. You Were Right.

I’m a hard head.  But I finally did one of the many things something I have steadfastly refused to do:

*  i bought a nook  *

I felt good about buying my new gizmo, especially since I christened it by reading a friend’s brilliant new novel (pre-publication), but I then proceeded to download books like a 10 yr old set loose with a credit card at FAO Schwartz.  So far I’ve got:

Unknown-3

say-youre-sorry-smlUnknownUnknown-251OFg1sX0EL._SY300_

______________

And then I did the thing I swore I’d never do:  I went to my favorite indy bookstore, browsed their beautiful display, and promptly went home and downloaded the book I wanted to buy.

Lordamercy.  I have crossed over to the dark side.  Let me know of anything else I MUST HAVE in my new virtual library.  (and thanks to Averil for the Michael Robotham suggestion.)

19 thoughts on “Okay. You Were Right.

  1. Downith

    You must have The Getaway Car by Ann Patchett (ebook only).

    I just downloaded Tiny Beautiful Things to my Kindle – am loading it up for the trip to the cottage.

    Do you know what the name of my Kindle is? The Dark Side. Everytime I buy an e-book from Amazon, it tells me that it has just been sent to “The Dark Side.” I think I’m trying to make up for my sin.

    1. Teri Post author

      Read the last essay in Tiny Beautiful Things (the title piece) when you’re ready to bawl like a baby. I’ve read it 20 times and still get choked up. Every. Single. Time.

  2. Averil Dean

    Will wonders never cease?! You are officially corrupted by technology.

    I buy books from everywhere these days. Some I download straight to my Kindle, some come from indie bookstores, or B&N, or Powell’s online. I’m a book slut. I like to spread it around.

  3. Jennine G.

    This sounds like me. When I started my blog I put up a post titled “To the Dark Side and Back” about e-readers. Lol, with the Kindle app on my iPad, I’ve been able to read and review pre-published books, so I’d have to say I’ve finally found my use for an e-reader as well.

  4. jpon

    To paraphrase Captain Renault in Casablanca, I’m shocked, shocked to find that a Nook is being used in here.

    Interestingly, I just flew back from Portland and was shocked to find more than half the people seated around me reading an actual, physical book. The senior to my right, the 300-pound man wearing military fatigues, the young guy with the backwards baseball cap, his girlfriend in the row in front of him, and many others. Maybe they were Portlanders heading east. It would be harder to believe they were Detroiters heading home. And not a Nook or a Kindle in sight. Must have been a dream.

    1. Teri Post author

      I believe every word, Joe. The last time I flew, I noticed the same thing. So many paper books! Was I in a dream??

    1. Teri Post author

      Don’t be jealous. Just because I have them doesn’t mean I’m reading them. I believe I’m on my way to hoarding books — virtually and otherwise — but I’m not ready to face that music.

  5. Lyra

    But, but, but….alas.

    Ha! I did the same thing when I first got my Kindle and now I just use it for my own nefarious editing purposes. The typos that transferred over drove me batty, but all of that may have been cleaned up by now. I don’t mind shorter pieces on my Kindle, but at the end of the day I’m a flipper, a chronic, obsessive flipper and nothing but paper will do.

    Lucky for the book economy, you’ll read the books on there but if you love it you’ll probably have to buy it in print anyway.

    Down with trees I say!

  6. Josey

    not to be a complete debbie downer, but the Blue Plate Special jacket cover is that slightly coarse paper that feels good to the touch, like the afghan your grandmother kept folded on the back of her couch.

    i don’t have a nook, but will download some things to our iPad. of course, it’s a community iPad and every time one of our kids fucks it up, my husband resets it and i can’t find anything…including Ann Patchett’s Runaway Car that I’m sure I’ve downloaded multiple times.

    1. Teri Post author

      The cover on Blue Plate Special is so so beautiful, right down to the exact right color and the feel of the paper.

  7. Catherine

    The Dark Side indeed. I haven’t given in yet, and am about to select my five or six book stash to take away camping to Corsica – I’m driving, and I like sand in my books and who wants to recharge a thing anyway? I ADORED the James Salter. If you enjoy that then I’d recommend ‘Nocturnes’ by Kasuo Ishiguro (even one story set in Venice). And ‘Dark Roots’ by Cate Kennedy – one fab New Yorker piece and a dog story I found awfully disturbing. Now I’m going to choose my holiday books!

  8. sherrystanfastanley

    Over the past two years, I’ve bought and downloaded dozens–DOZENS–of books to both my Nook and my Kindle Fire. And I’ve only read about six. Every time I think about pulling one of them out, I sigh and instead reach over to the toppling TBR pile of p-books on my nightstand. (And yes, I was told at my recent writer’s conference that p-books is now a word.) Still, e-books are handy for traveling, which was my motivation.

Comments are closed.