The Good People in Publishing

Post Road, Issue #25

Post Road, Issue #25

____________

This weekend I received an email from an editor.  I’m glad I was sitting down…

Hi there,

I just read your essay “The Stages of Civility” on Post Road, and really enjoyed it!  I especially loved the way Southern Missouri bloomed on the page, and how you render Wade so sweetly and disdainfully–such a complex character.

I am the Non-Fiction editor of [redacted].  We’re always looking for quality Non-Fiction, and would love to read a submission by you.  Looking forward to following your writing and future memoir.  All the best.

A nice note like this, for no reason at all?  There are good people in publishing.  There just are.  And for this I say, Thank You.

20 thoughts on “The Good People in Publishing

    1. Teri Post author

      I love that there’s nothing to gain but the most important thing of all: goodwill. And that’s just downright lovely.

  1. Jessica Lahey

    CONGRATULATIONS! That’s so so fantastic. So much nicer than the rejections and the snarky editors who seem to have forgotten they are talking to actual people on the other end of their letters…go you!

  2. Downith

    Teri, I just read it. For some if it, I didn’t know whether to laugh or cry. Case in point:

    “Maybe it would help if you stopped calling her names,” I say. “Jesus fucking Christ.”
    “Don’t you take the lord’s name!”

    Great piece.

    Dxo

  3. Josey

    It’s exactly like that scene in Almost Famous when Penny Lane first meets Will: “It’s all happening!”

    At least, that’s what it felt like when I read this. (Totally, not surprised you–and your writing–has already been spotted.)

  4. jpon

    There’s nothing like the feeling that someone appreciates your writing—especially someone who knows good writing. Congratulations!

  5. Pamela

    I’m not surprised at all. You should expect more of those pleasant happenings. I had “love at first sentence” with you & became an insta-fan. I imagine you have that effect on plenty of people.

  6. Lyra

    You know, how many times to we read something that is truly lovely and assume that a note of thanks, of congratulations, job well done, will be wasted, just fall into a void? And here an editor took the time to let you know that you have something outstanding. Fantastic, my friend.
    I recently wrote a note to an author after I loved the book she had written. She’s big and I thought, eh, she probably gets these all the time but for once I sent it anyway just because I finally get how difficult it is, how truly difficult to get the words to tell the story in such a way….
    So, I sent the note and I kid you not, she responded to me within the week. Totally unexpected and then I thought, why on earth don’t I tell writers who touch me, exactly that. I mean, who wouldn’t want to know?!
    Congratulations, Teri, from one of those who has known it all along…

    1. Teri Post author

      Unfortunately, it’s the trying to string about 30 of these together for a whole book that’s the challenge du jour… or du decade.

      1. Lyra

        And as I’m editing right now, that’s exactly on my mind. But when the whole is overwhelming, it comes down to chapter, no, paragraph, no too much, sentence, and on the occasion, just the right word. One word, over and over, until the sentence is right within the paragraph within the chapter…we’ve got this, my friend.
        Word to word. That’s it. Word to word.

  7. Bonnie Middlebrooks

    Wow, I’m so happy to hear about this email! Your essay was enticing. I can’t wait to read your book. Your unveiling of the pretense of civility in families is handled gently but honestly. And it is so true.
    Thanks for sharing.

Comments are closed.