I’m Taking All My Dolls

“If Santa Clause brings me any toys, I’m taking them with me.  I’m taking all my dolls, the dead ones too.  I’m taking everything.”

~~  Tootie, in “Meet Me In St. Louis”

________

Right now you’re decorating and cooking and shopping like a mad-person, thinking about everyone else, so you’re going to need a little something just for you after the tree comes down.  Here are the two dolls you need pre-order and to take with you into 2014.

________

Front cover - 9780778315865

Ten years ago, someone ruined Alice Croft’s life. Now, she has a chance to right that wrong—and she thinks she’s found the perfect man to carry out her plan.

After watching him for weeks, she breaks into Jack Calabrese’s house to collect the evidence that will confirm her hopes. When Jack comes home unexpectedly, Alice hides in the closet, fearing for her life. But upon finding her, Jack is strangely calm, solicitous…and intrigued.

That night is the start of a dark and intense attraction, and soon Alice finds herself drawn into a labyrinth of terrifying surrender to a man who is more dangerous than she could have ever imagined. As their relationship spirals toward a breaking point, Alice begins to see just how deep Jack’s secrets run—and how deadly they could be.

“Alice Close Your Eyes will have readers on the edge of their seats. Promising newcomer Dean spins a web out of the deepest human obsessions…[her] tricky tale of psychological romantic suspense will leave readers wanting more.” – Booklist

_______

TheMomentBefore_cover“Don’t get me wrong. I loved my sister. I never, not once, wished her dead.”

Brady and Sabine Wilson are sisters born eleven months apart, but they couldn’t be more different. Popular Sabine, the head cheerleader dating the high school hunk, seems to have all the luck, while her younger, artsy sister “Brady Brooder” is a loner who prefers the sidelines to the limelight.

After Sabine dies in a horrific cheerleading accident, grief unravels Brady and her family. Once recognized for her artistic talent, 17-year-old Brady finds herself questioning the value of everything she once held dear. Her best friend betrays her. Her parents’ marriage is crumbling. And the boy everyone blames for the accident seems to be her only ally in the search for answers in the wake of her sister’s death. As an unlikely friendship emerges, Brady learns more about Sabine—and love—than she bargained for.

 __________

Happy reading!  I’ll see you back here in the new year … if the fates allow.

15 thoughts on “I’m Taking All My Dolls

  1. Catherine

    What shining stars above! Good luck to Suzy and Averil with sales and signings. I’ve read Alice and it’s a BLAST. It’s slinky and creepy and gets under your skin. Happy festive season Teri and I hope everyone’s writing wishes come tumbling down the chimney!! Ciao cat xx

    1. Teri Post author

      We writers talk a lot about first lines, and I LOVE the first lines of both books. Not to mention that both first lines are so brief and yet packed with what’s coming in the entire story.

      ALICE CLOSE YOUR EYES: I am inside Jack’s house.
      THE MOMENT BEFORE: Sabine’s car sits in the driveway like a tombstone.

      Just freakin’ brilliant.

  2. Downith

    Teri, you’re a doll, but we already knew that. Alice is being delivered to my Kindle on New Year’s Eve and I’m just back from checking if The Moment Before is available over here. It is, and it will be delivered to me on January 14th.

    Reading material for January? Sorted.

    1. Teri Post author

      D, you won’t be able to put either one down. I recently passed the The Moment Before across the fence to my neighbor and she couldn’t say enough about what a joy it was to read.

  3. tedstrutz

    I’m looking forward to reading ‘Alice’. I hadn’t thought of preordering. Do you think I should hold out till our almost famous friend has a book signing at Elliott Bay Books in Seattle?

    1. Teri Post author

      I say you pre-order so you can read it before the reading and pepper our friend with just the right questions. How’s that for planning? 😉

  4. Suzy Vitello

    Gosh, Teri. All you guys. Like Averil, I love the image of Alice and Brady venturing into the deep, dark woods together. The tribe – my buddies – have been so wonderful and supportive. I get all weepy and embarrassed and humble when I contemplate the outpouring. Thank you.

    There are so many aspects of this “launching a book” thing that I didn’t anticipate – both fantastic and terrifying. And then there’s the whole “business” part of it, which is fucking daunting. (Sorry for barfing up the “f” word on your blog, Teri, but unlike Amy Adams: http://www.nytimes.com/2013/12/08/movies/amy-adams-plays-a-grifter-in-american-hustle.html?_r=0 , I was raised in a household of swearers. I didn’t even know what the “f” word referred to until I was an adult. It was always, “fuck this, fuck me, fuck you” in my house).

    Last night, at workshop, Monica Drake read a piece that really resonated with why I wrote The Moment Before. It was about the thing that changes you forever. That one thing that happens to you during childhood/teendom, and you can never go back. The loss, the profound loss, of innocence that happens in the blink of an eye, and protracted aftermath. This has always fascinated me. And perhaps, if the two books have a few things in common (set in the Pacific Northwest, outsider type narrators, secrets), this idea of the event that you can never undo that sets your life in a different direction is the most compelling common denominator. Averil, what do you think?

Comments are closed.