Back in December, I found Chase on a website that said he was 6 or 7 years old.  Here’s what he had to say:

IMG_0640

___________

“My owners abandoned me into the shelter when they didn’t want me anymore.  I was very sad.  I didn’t weigh much either, so my new foster home rushed me to the vet.  I was so thin and very hungry.  I got to eat and eat and have gained weight now, but I still need to gain about 10 pounds.  I feel so much better now, and I prance like a show dog.  I am interested in things but I am still a little timid.  I am looking for someone to love me and to build my confidence again.  I am very loving and gentle.  Please come meet me and give me a chance to show you who I am!”

As best I can tell, Chase was “in the system” for a few months, and during that time he lived in a kennels, shelters, and foster homes.  A single woman even adopted him, but brought him back after 2 days because she “had to work and she couldn’t leave him out on her deck alone all day.”

Alas.  Chase has been a member of our family for 6 weeks.  If he could talk, maybe this would be his new bio:

IMG_0624“My new family found me when I’d been shuttled to 5 or 6 kennels/homes after my family abandoned me.  A woman adopted me, and she seemed very excited!!, until she realized I could not be left alone on a strange square of wood for 10 hours day while she went to work.  She returned me to the nice rescue people, but I wondered what I had done wrong.  Would I ever find a real home?  One day my new mom came to meet me, and the first thing she did was sit down on the floor, so I figured I should shake her hand.  With both paws.  The next thing I knew I was in her car, taking a very long car ride while I slept on her lap.  Meeting new people, and being on display, is so exhausting.  Now, after a month and a half in one place, let me tell you how great life is.  I’ve been to the vets’ office and, with their help, finally weigh exactly what I should.  I’ve learned I’m not 6 or 7, that I’m maybe more like 10, but I love to run and play and bark and nibble on my new sisters and nap quietly in my kennel, so I have no idea why anyone cares about how old I am.  Age is just a number!  I prance around my new neighborhood— which isn’t so new anymore — with my new lab sisters, and everyone stops to pet me and say hello and tell me what a good boy I am.  I am not the least bit shy. Why would they have said that??  I love all dogs!  I love all people!  I love to play and show everyone I meet that I want to be their friend.   Who doesn’t need a friend?   During my days, I lie under my new mom’s feet while she pounds her fingers on her keyboard, and when it gets to be nighttime, which is about 5 in the evening, I lie down on my bed or in my crate and take a nap that lasts until morning.  Though sometimes my lab sister pounces on my head and my new mama makes me go outside to pee, even when I don’t think I have to.”

photo

