tumblr_ldp0t4j1mP1qf7ojvo1_500Sometimes when you’re slogging through writing a book you refer to simply as The Fucker, the best thing you can do to get your creative pistons firing again is to talk about anything else.  Case in point:  I give you a brief list of what we’ve discussed, in addition to “writing,” at my last 2 writers group meetings.

The Tesla is the most aesthetically pleasing car on the market, but it’s too long and would be tough to parallel park.  If you’re going to Greece, you should forget Athens and spend time in Santorini.  The benefits of tantric sex and our states of consciousness, or lack thereof.  Dogs were first domesticated during the onset of our agricultural period by following humans home.  Yoga can hurt your neck.  Being charming is the #1 requisite for being a U.S. President.  All of the presidential personalities back to Eisenhower.  Can foxes be domesticated, or merely tamed?  The most fascinating thing to see is an elephant using his trunk; the end of the trunk can do far more than the human hand.

And … horses can love, which led someone to quote this poem:

A BLESSING
BY James Wright

Just off the highway to Rochester, Minnesota,
Twilight bounds softly forth on the grass.
And the eyes of those two Indian ponies
Darken with kindness.
They have come gladly out of the willows
To welcome my friend and me.
We step over the barbed wire into the pasture
Where they have been grazing all day, alone.
They ripple tensely, they can hardly contain their happiness
That we have come.
They bow shyly as wet swans. They love each other.
There is no loneliness like theirs.
At home once more,
They begin munching the young tufts of spring in the darkness.
I would like to hold the slenderer one in my arms,
For she has walked over to me
And nuzzled my left hand.
She is black and white,
Her mane falls wild on her forehead,
And the light breeze moves me to caress her long ear
That is delicate as the skin over a girl’s wrist.
Suddenly I realize
That if I stepped out of my body I would break
Into blossom.

_________________

What do you talk about in groups that you’re not supposed to talk about?

