The Bucket

I love a list.  However, being a pragmatist, I tend to shy away from wishful-thinking type lists … like the bucket list.

Picture 53For a writer, I’m not much on the dreamy mind.  I don’t spend a lot of time hoping something goes well or not, or wishing things were different, or wondering “what if” or “if only.”  Even when I was little, I wanted a story that seemed “real.”  I wanted to be Laura Ingalls and live with Ma and Pa and some sisters in LITTLE HOUSE ON THE PRAIRIE, but I did not, under any circumstances, want to follow Alice down the rabbit hole or escape with THE LION, THE WITCH, AND THE WARDROBE.  Brace yourselves:  I’ve never seen “Star Wars.”  But today one of my favorite writers and friends, the super-smart and lovely Averil Dean, posted the bucket list question on her blog and I answered.  And I was surprised by a few of my own answers.  Here’s what was on my Bucket List as of 3 pm on an Easter Sunday:

1. Live in a house in the country, with a front porch swing, close to my children.

2. Write a book that changes the way we think about, and talk about, stepfamilies.

3. Go on safari.

4. Meet my German relatives, and find out who my family was in the early 20th century.

5. Spend a year traveling the U.S. in an RV, with our dogs.

6. Learn how to live without regret or denial.

I have no idea where the German-relatives-answer came from.  Had never thought about the regret/denial thing.  But there they are.  In ink.

__________

What’s the most surprising thing on your (bucket) list?

15 thoughts on “The Bucket

    1. Teri Post author

      I don’t think I really have a list either — in fact, I think my “list” changes depending on the day.

  1. lisahgolden

    I would use yours except for the German relatives. As far as I know, I don’t have those. And no dogs either, but the year in the RV? Sign me up!

    I got such a kick out of this because as you may have seen from Facebook or Twitter, the strangest thing on my pretty much non-existent bucket list is kissing a man in an Easter Bunny suit. Mission accomplished.

  2. jpon

    There’s an old saying about boat owners, that the two happiest days in their lives are the day they buy the boat and the day they sell it. I know that sounds out-of-left field, but your #5 wish reminded me of it. A year in an RV with dogs! That’s a book idea if I ever heard one!

    I suppose the most surprising thing on my bucket list is wishing that I had a bucket list.

    1. Teri Post author

      I’m going to remember that line, Joe, the buying/selling of the boat. There’s a man in my writing group who was a car designer. We were just talking about how, if you buy a silver car, you end up wishing you had a black one, and if you get a sedan, you wish you had a two-door, etc… It’s the science of our brains to desperately want one thing and, once we get it, start wanting something else. We are doomed. Of our own doing.

  3. Josey

    My bucket list now includes:
    1. (for one of my dearest friends and writers to) Live in a house in the country, with a front porch swing, close to (her) children (and me).

    Also, I want to walk the el camino.

  4. Averil Dean

    You can park your RV next to my Airstream and we can let our dogs run wild on the hiking trail. I can’t think of anything I’d like better.

  5. donnaeve

    I didn’t have the bucket list until Averil asked. I think the most surprising was when I decided to put learning to fly a small plane…considering I have a thing about heights. And the fact it would seem like I was flying a bucket/.

  6. chillcat

    As soon as I saw the bottle of Veuve Cliquot – my favourite drop! Perhaps on my bucket list I’d have to write that I ought to move over to France from Italy.. but then how would I ski on my beloved Dolomites? Nahh, bucket lists involve planning and dreaming about the future, I’m not ready for that..

Comments are closed.