Birdie

gray-crowned-crane-wings-openSometimes this photo is what I imagine my husband thinks of me.

The big flashy bird version of hauling up and saying, Hey!  and, Are you listening?! and, This is what I have to say about THAT!  A woman who knows and isn’t the least bit afraid to speak her mind.  No wallflower.  And yet …

I’ll be damned if the Twittersphere doesn’t baffle the hell out of me.

It’s like the instant I hit twitter.com and a read through a few tweets, I go downright dead inside.  Silent.  Not a word in the head or heart.  I’m trying to get it, I really am.  But …. who are all of these quick-witted, pithy folk?   From what planet??  Who are these tweeters who post as if in constant conversation and yet are playing professional tournaments and writing 3 cogent essays a week and doing public readings and finishing books?  I envy them.  I just do.

What is it about distraction, the winding side road, that helps some and hinders others?

________

ShyBird-785429

 

______

20 thoughts on “Birdie

  1. Averil Dean

    That’s EXACTLY how I feel about Twitter. Utterly baffled and dead silent inside. I don’t get it and I don’t want to. It’s almost as bad as Facebook.

    Pinterest, on the other hand…

    1. Teri Post author

      Pinterest seems more like a game to me, all collecting and sorting, like playing with paper dolls. It’s comical to me that I’m most baffled by programs — Twitter, Facebook — that require words.

  2. Pamela

    I made real friends on Twitter….people that I’ve spent time with in person. I feel so lucky to have discovered them on Twitter that no matter how out of step I feel with it sometimes, I can never speak ill of it. It would be like wishing those wonderful friendships away. No. All praise to Twitter.

    1. Teri Post author

      Well, that’s exactly how I feel about the blogging thing. I’ve met some incredible people, some of whom have become the most excellent of friends. Later this month, in fact, I’ll be meeting our very own ChillCat for the first time in Venice, Italy — how are these wonders possible?

      It is also entirely possible that I don’t understand how Twitter works well enough. Like, how do you do that hashtag thing? And I swear I have “tweet regret” so often that I delete more tweets than I leave up.

      1. Pamela

        Well, now you’ve done it. I’m going to follow you on Twitter, as if blogdom is not enough. I’ll go hashtag something on your behalf right now…

  3. jpon

    My first real job was as a journalist, and I think it has something to do with why I like Twitter. Each Tweet is like a headline to me, just a quick blurb and a link if the reader is interested in seeing more. No room for fluff, and so easy to gain followers. Facebook is the baffler to me. It’s an infinite Seinfeld episode, page after page of talking about nothing.

    1. Teri Post author

      JOE!!! I think you may have just changed my mindset. I’m going to start looking at tweets like headlines! I love that plan. I might start enjoying the reading.

      Facebook has always baffled me. I do it, but only under duress, and mostly to see people’s photos.

  4. donnaeve

    I’m not huge on Twitter. I once likened the life of a tweet to a raindrop on hot sidewalk in the middle of a drought. Sure, it’s cool to be able to spew intelligent, witty snippets in 140 characters or less – but unless you want to sit and stare at your Twitter page in order to capture tweets as they come in…who’s gonna see them? You can catch up and see if anyone’s mentioned you via connect or mentions, but…unless you’re there in the moment, is it as much fun? Nah. Sort of like joining a party when everyone’s gone home. My two cents!

    1. Teri Post author

      There are a few writers I follow. When I go to their actual twitter pages, I see that they tweet 10 or 30 times an hour. And yet they are publishing articles and books right and left. How? HOW???????

      1. donnaeve

        Blunt reply – shit if I know! And they are witty to boot. I bogart other people’s tweets…and if someone has a “tweet” button I use the hell out of that. My creativity is like yours on Twitter….dried up as a prune.

    1. Teri Post author

      That’s the one thing I like about Twitter. Some people are SO WITTY with the one-liners. I love, for example, Susan Orlean. She’s hilarious.

    1. Teri Post author

      And blogging is responsible for many of us meeting in person and becoming both friends and working-writers-in-the-trenches. So nothing is all bad, right? I think I’m just baffled that (a) I can’t figure out how to use it properly, and (b) I can’t understand the amount of time spent by some constant tweeters.

  5. amyg

    I use Twitter mostly professionally and it’s been a good resource for connecting w/ people I want to interview when I can’t find their email.

    Maybe think about it as an easy way to find & connect w/ writers/editors/agents? If there’s someone on my radar, I’ll see if they have a Twitter handle. If so, I can keep tabs on what they’re talking about, reading, etc., and if they post something I have a genuine interest in or know something in connection to, I share it. My rule with reaching out to people on Twitter who I don’t necessarily know is any communication directed to them – a direct tweet, reply, retweet – has to be genuine vs me trying to promote myself. That being said, I have all the stories I write and my colleagues write set up to automatically post in my feed.

    It’s like being able to connect w/ people you would never connect w/ on FB b/c, you know, it’s FB and creepy if you reach out to someone you don’t have any previous connection to. But, on Twitter, it’s a way to connect to people of the same ilk/profession/whatever w/out the creepy stalker thing gong on.

    It’s still all very baffling in the broad aspect…especially considering the brainstorming that went into creating, “It’ll be kind of like Facebook, but will only allow 300 characters per—wait, not 300, 140! YES! 140, that’s perfect. It will be the best self-induced editing tool EVER.”

    It also reminds me of a quote that I think was attributed to Mark Twain. I don’t even remember it in full, but something to the affect of, “I would have written less, but I didn’t have a lot of time.”

    1. Teri Post author

      The best self-editing tool ever. Hahaha! Yes! And admittedly, the one thing I do like is that I can “follow” writers I like and see how incredibly clever they are and what they’re talking about. It’s like sitting the next table over and eavesdropping.

Comments are closed.