IMG_0298Dear People,

This time last year, I was in a kennel. I was alone and malnourished and already 10 years old. I have no idea how I ended up there. I was sad.

And then, one day in December, the good people at Norcal Golden Retriever Rescue showed up to save me!

I thought my troubles were over?

But then, right around Christmas time, a woman adopted me. Yay! She took me home and put me out on her deck and went to work. And I was alone again. After only 2 days, she took me back to the rescue group and said it wasn’t working out. I wondered what I’d done wrong.

The next thing I knew I was back with yet another foster family (thankfully the wonderful Cheryl Paul Herkenrath!) but waiting, yet again, for a family to take me home. For a family to let me love them.

My new forever family finally found me, right after the New Year. It took some months and a lot of help from Jenna at Lily Cash and Sheila Gibson and the incredible people at The Whole Pet Vet Hospital and Wellness Center with Dr. Hilary Wheeler and Dr. Kirsten Krick to get me healthy, but then the next thing I knew I’d gained 15 pounds — my mom says she gained the same 15 pounds, hahaha! — and I was going on daily walks and everyone was telling me what a good boy I am. (I’ve even overhead them saying I’m the best, calmest, easiest, most loving, sweetheart of a dog they’ve ever had, but don’t tell my new sisters!).

Which brings me back to this year, and all of my blessings. I know I will never be at a shelter or in a kennel again. And this year for Christmas I have only one wish: that families consider adopting an older dog just like me. I’m so easy! I take a couple of short walks, play a little, then sleep the days away. I’m a bit of a goofball, the real me. And I love absolutely everyone, even my difficult sister JoJo!

And now I’ve blathered on too long. I do this. I blame age. Apologies. But I hear I’ve made the cover of my family’s Christmas card (I’m a handsome star, hello!) and now I’m looking forward to the holidays for the first time in a very long time. Bless you all. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

Love,
Handsome

IMG_1708

