The Skinny on Mary

43e39040-940x1410Mary is skinny. Mary has a trick. Mary shows up late for lunch, which means she has no time to order or no time to eat. Both work. Mary’s just turned 50 and she is always talking food: You would not believe what I stuffed in my face at that barbecue! Your bag of Cool Ranch Doritos is in danger. I’m ordering a cheeseburger and fries! But Mary, who owns an investment firm, is an expert at moving her food around a round plate and she always gets a to-go box for her barely-touched burger and fries. Can’t wait to pound this down at midnight!

She thinks we believe her, so we pretend we do.

We all have our tricks.

In an August 2012 article for Forbes, Lisa Quast quotes a research study: 45 to 61 percent of top male CEOs are overweight, compared to only 5 to 22 percent of top female CEOs.

*click here to read my latest essay on women, food, and fat at The Manifest-Station

8 thoughts on “The Skinny on Mary

  1. donnaeve

    Teri. I am so impressed by your writing in this piece. The way you juxtaposed your personal experiences against the vignettes of “Mary,” and other “women.” Your fearlessness at sharing private thoughts, and why you did the things you did.

    If I could reach you, I’d hug you. Bravo.

  2. Pamela

    Love this. Love it.

    And I want to add my own story: I can remember being 20-ish, visiting my friend in NYC, being afraid he wouldn’t feed me and that I wouldn’t be able to ask for food. I brought a stash of chocolate and hid it under the bed in his guestroom, leaning on my belly facedown over the edge of the bed to reach down and break off little secret pieces of chocolate to eat quickly when I was alone. How hard would it have been for me to ask him for a sandwich? God.

    1. Teri Post author

      I understand this painfully well, and I’m guessing many others will too, Pamela. In my early 20s especially, I never ever wanted a boy/man to think I ate like a real person. God forbid.

  3. Downith

    Hi Teri, this essay is brilliant, as they always are when you’re the author. “We all have our tricks”. Indeed. Thanks for trying to help us make sense of why.

  4. James F. O'Neil

    My gift tie reads, “I’m not fat, I’m big-boned.” (That’s “boned.”) I weigh 246-255, an all-time high of 278. In high school I wrestled heavyweight, at 160# My wedding picture shows me a skiiny-minny at 185, whose bride is 95#. So what’s the skinny now? BMI = 37 @245#. OMG! Good thing I never wanted to be a CEO of anything. (Did being a Minnesota school superintendent count?) I have no tricks. I am not supposed to eat anything white–to include white chocolate. Easy. Good thing sweet potato fries are not white! Great essay/story. Oh, BTW, boys don’t usually have to worry about smelly crotches. Do they?

Comments are closed.